Raising Deep Roots Workshops!…{and a giveaway!} by Susie

Pinching myself… I’m home alone and awake (gasp!)  and so I’ve grabbed the laptop, ignored the dinner dishes that need to cleaned up, put on some amazing Andrew Peterson music, lit some candles and I’m going to try to crank out some bloggy goodness! 

I wanted to take a moment to recruit your help!  One of the unexpected blessings that has developed out of Kellye’s invitation three years ago to join her on this bloggy adventure, has been the opportunity to teach a series of workshops around some of the devotional ideas posted here (and the many that never make it here!  LOL!)  While I do enjoy sharing through posting on RaisingDeepRoots ( I really do! ) honestly, teaching interactively is much more up my alley!  Plunking out ideas here can be a laborious process for me, but teaching in a small group setting thrills me 🙂  

DSC_0150

 I’ve taught a couple hour-long break-out sessions at our church’s Parenting conferences (love seeing grandparents getting in on the action too!),  had the delightful opportunity to share some devotional ideas with a Christian moms playgroup (with the kiddos joining in – super fun!), and most recently spoke at a MOPS meeting.  Thankful!  But….this time dear friends, rather than talk as fast as I can to stuff  as much as I can into a mere hour, I will have the luxury of teaching a 4 week series of 75 minute sessions each!  Whoot!  I’m beyond excited and completely overwhelmed at the same time.  I’m a little bit giddy, a little bit nervous, and whole lot humbled right now.

DSC_0427

Most parents cite lack of time and lack of training as the top two reasons why home devotions haven’t become a regular reality in the rhythm and routines of their family life.  I am also ( sadly)  intimately aware of the myths and lies that convince us that we are incapable, ineffective, and inadequate -not to mention the fear that it will be a laborious and unrewarding endeavor.  I promise you this CAN be super fun!  We’ll talk about ways to redeem time, explore activities that are suited to your family’s unique personality, share ideas and favorite resources with each other, and walk away with an implementable plan. I LOVE to put materials and resources right into the hands of parents so they can go home and start right away.  

DSC_0061

DSC_0068

DSC_0055

DSC_0060

So can you help me out?  If you had the chance to carve out 4 sessions over 4 weeks in which to be equipped, encouraged and make a plan to make home devotions part of your family’s rhythm and routines, what topics would you want to cover?

  • Spiritual Disciplines such as Bible reading, prayer, scripture memory and more,
  • “Parenting in the Pew” – inviting and guiding your children into the joy of Sunday morning worship,
  • Making the most of Holidays – thematic devotional ideas for celebrating seasons such as Lent, Easter, Thanksgiving, and beyond,
  • Spiritual Survival for the new mom, and suggestions for establishing routines in the early  years,
  • Teaching theology and catechism,
  • Stewardship,
  • Social Justice and Serving others,
  • Evangelism, missions and outreach
  • other ideas?

As a thank you for your comments and suggestions, I’m giving away my hands-down, all-time favorite resource for making the most of those unscheduled moments of life!

faithfilled moment 

Faith-filled Moments: Helping Kids See God in Everyday Life by Kelli B. Trujillo will go to one of you – picked totally at random!  Like I said, I just LOVE sharing  by putting resources in your hands!

 Feel free to pass this post along – the more input the better! 

GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED!

Thanks friends!  

For local readers, workshops will be Sunday nights – 5:00-6:15pm Feb 16th, 23rd, Mar 2nd and 9th

Deuteronomy 4:9
Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.
 
Comments
13 Responses to “Raising Deep Roots Workshops!…{and a giveaway!} by Susie”
  1. Becky Mebane says:

    I wish I could attend your workshops. Maybe you could video them for your friends who live far away. I like the ideas of: Spiritual Disciplines such as Bible reading, prayer, scripture memory and more, “Parenting in the Pew” – inviting and guiding your children into the joy of Sunday morning worship, Spiritual Survival for the new mom, and suggestions for establishing routines in the early years, Teaching theology and catechism. I can’t wait to hear what you decide and how it goes.

  2. Grace says:

    Are the workshops open to anyone? Is there a cost? I might be interested in attending.
    As for topics to cover – maybe something about age-appropriate ideas for home devotions? I have a 9-year-old and a 2-year-old, and we like to do things together but obviously it’s hard to find something that they both can get something out of. I also like the Parenting in the Pew idea, because so many churches these days seem to be trending toward family worship, having the kids in “big church” for at least part of the service, and again – I have a 9-year-old and a 2-year-old to engage.

    • Grace! Fabulous topic idea! Many families have a wide spread in ages of kids – I love it! thank you! Yes the workshops will be open to anyone! Cost is $5 to help cover some cost of materials and there will be opportunities to purchase more supplies if they interest you. You can also come to one or all the sessions – whatever works for your calendar 🙂

  3. I think it is so great that you want to help parents to see that teaching children is “doable”. I think the New Mom Survival and making habits, the Spiritual Disciplines and the Making Most of the Holidays are such important topics.

  4. Linda says:

    Love it Susan! Would be great if mike or I could attend. I would love a course on anger / stress management for moms using prayer, readings, meditation.

  5. christine magtibay says:

    1. Making the most of the holidays
    2. Spiritual survival for new moms
    3. Evangelism, missions
    4. Theology & catechism

  6. Karissa says:

    I want you to video this!!! Or at least have someone taking detailed notes and pictures and then maybe you can blog the synopsis?? Wish I could come. Topic ideas: 1)Reaching all your kids (broad age range, boys and girls) 2)Prayer: with kids, personal discipline, and as a family.

Leave a Reply

