Good Friday Dinner…by Susie

Can you relate to this? You LOVE the idea of being intentional when it comes to teaching your children the truths of the Bible and making family devotions a regular habit in your home, but its the planning and then the actual implementation of those plans that trips you up.  Me too.  That’s why you hear me say this over and over again that we try to incorporate as much as we can into our daily routines and rhythms rather than trying to eek out more time from an already over- stretched schedule.  If there is one activity in our home that NEVER gets missed, it’s meal time!  I’ve said it a bunch of times here before. 80% of our most successful teaching and devotional times take place over breakfast or dinner.  So yes, I was super stoked when I found this great idea for observing Good Friday over dinner together.  Even better?  All the planning, complete with printables ready to go, is already done for us!!!   Just simply buy your ingredients, prep the food, print out the Bible scriptures (gluing onto stand-up cards definitely optional!), and take a journey down the road to the Garden of Gethsemane to the courts of Pontius Pilate and ultimately to the Hill of Golgotha where our Saviour took the sins of the world upon himself for our sake.

Full credit must go to Shower of Roses for her post describing what she calls her Good Friday tea.  Thankful for her inspiration, I simply turned ours into dinner!  

{Click HERE to see her dinner ideas and to print out her pre-made cards!  Thank you Jessica for making these available for us to use!!  Keep scrolling to see a full three year worth of ideas!!}

This is what ours turned out like.

{Now that I’m looking over Shower of Roses pictures again, I hope to find a purple table cloth somewhere!}

seamless garment good friday

Another bonus is that he meal was VERY kid friendly – Chips, queso, and “Green with envy” guacamole. Crackers with peanut butter and pretzel pieces. Hard boiled eggs. Grape Juice, Fruit Roll ups, and greens from the Garden of Gethsemane.  The kids loved drawing skulls on hard-boiled eggs for Golgotha – Place of the Skull.

golgotha eggs

Making Crowns of Thorns

crown of thorns

good friday dinner

I could not get Jake to give me a genuine smile no matter how hard I tried. LOL!  Oh and look!  You can catch a glimpse of our Easter Garden on the far left of the table too!

This was a simple yet powerful way to truly experience the crucifixion story.  We made our way slowly through the Biblical account of the hours leading up to Jesus’ death on a cross.  We washed our hands like Pontius Pilate did.  We made crowns of thorns. We ate tortillas in the shapes of seamless garments.  And as we did, we read scripture excerpts (those purple cards on the table)  And then we cleared the table, put on our shoes and coats and made our way to church to participate in the Good Friday Service.  I can’t speak for my kids, but I can tell you how meaningful that particular Good Friday service was for me last year. The story was so fresh in my mind, having reviewed it just less than an hour earlier- not just over dinner – but AS OUR DINNER!! 

It is my prayer that the significance of the cross will have new or renewed meaning for all of us this year.  However we choose to observe Good Friday, may our children see us worship the Lamb of God who came to take away the sins of the world. May they see us bend our knee at the wonderful cross and find forgiveness.

Behold the Man upon a cross,
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice,
Call out among the scoffers

It was my sin that left Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

From “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us” by Stuart Townsend

Comments
One Response to “Good Friday Dinner…by Susie”
  1. Kim Lee says:

    What a cool idea! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

