Hosting a Happy Birthday Jesus Party by Susie

I’m writing this on the eve of hosting my 5th or so Happy Birthday Jesus Party.  My sweet five year old couldn’t fall asleep tonight he was so excited!  “Daddy, guess what tomorrow is?  It’s our happy birthday Jesus Party!”  And you know what friend?  I’m pretty excited too!  This one of those special times we get to invite friends from the neighborhood, our schoolmates, my mamma play date friends to join us in celebrating the birth of our Savior.  I love sharing life with people. I love sharing the message of Christmas with cherished friends.  I love inviting others to take a peek into what gives our family so much joy.  I want my friends and my children’s friends to have the chance to celebrate with us.

DSC_0004Now sweet mamma!  I KNOW you are tired!  I am too…I can barely type this out tonight out of sheer fatigue but I promise you that a party like this can be thrown together quickly, easily, and with joy in your heart!  And its such a simple but effective way to keep Christ at the center of your family’s Christmas celebration.

We always start out with a craft.  My kids love traditions and since we made these adorable pinecone christmas trees the first year we had a party, we now HAVE to make one at every Happy Birthday Jesus party!

DSC_0057

Supplies needed:

paper plate

 playdough to stick the pinecone onto so it won’t tip over

glue or glitter glue

mini pom-poms, beads, baubles, or anything lying around that could serve as a Christmas tree ornament

Don’t forget something to function of some sort of star – I think this one is a sticker

 Of course you need a nice fat pinecone with its “petals” opened up wide.  We love to go outside on a hike with buckets and collect the pinecones lying around. We live near some great trees that drop some HUGE pinecones so this is super fun for us.  Wet pine cones will open up nicely once let to dry out. (Lesson learned: let them dry out for a couple days in a sheltered area OUTSIDE  in case there are any creepy crawly things living inside!!)  Short on time?  Pick up a bag of pinecones at your nearest craft store.  Bonus-they are often cinnamon scented!!

**SUPER EASY PARTY VERSION**

Grab a nativity story coloring book from your home collection or the nearest dollar store and cut out pages.  Add some crayons and voila! craft time!

Or go to a website that offers free coloring pages like these:

melonheadillustrating.blogspot.com

or

ministry-to-children.com coloring pages

What comes next?  The birthday cake of course! Years ago, long before I had children, I bought a Christmas Tree cake pan.  Now its the official Happy Birthday Jesus Cake pan!

DSC_0253

But honestly, just pour a cake mix in any old pan and light some candles and sing Happy Birthday Jesus and all the kids will be over the moon!  Heck, run to the closest grocery store and buy one from the bakery.  Done!!!

Waiting patiently for the cake!

Waiting patiently for the cake!

Here it comes!

Here it comes!

Finally, the best of the party is the telling of the wondrous Christmas story.  I love a resource that Family Life has published.  My kids LOVE it and the other children always are entranced by the story.  It’s called “What God Wants for Christmas.”  Again a must do tradition for us!

What God want Christmas

DSC_0236


DSC_0234

DSC_0244

DSC_0239

DSC_0245

**SUPER EASY PARTY VERSION**

Simply grab your favorite children’s Bible and read the story of our Savior’s birth.  Or  perhaps share from another favorite children’s storybook that has a faithful retelling of  the Christmas nativity story.  Let us know if you’d like  a list of some our favorites!

A word on invitations. I have many friends who join in our celebration but are of a different faith tradition or have no particular faith traditions of their own.  What a great way to share your love for Jesus with your friends!  Sometimes we get hung up on worrying about not wanting to offend anyone by inviting them to a JESUS party of all things.  Invitations don’t offend people.  It’s discovering you weren’t invited to a party that offends.  Like my mom always says, “even if I don’t want to go, it’s always nice to be given an opportunity to say no!” LOL!  I confess I am often a bit nervous as I send out those invitations to acquaintances that I don’t know for sure what their reaction will be, but I’ve always been pleasantly surprised, delighted actually, with the responses.  And it always such a blessing to share the joy with have with those we care about.

  If you have hosted a party like this in the past, won’t you share your ideas/resources for us in the comments so we can all enjoy?

If this post comes too late for you this year, will you consider putting it on your calendar for next year?  You and your friends will be blessed!

Joy to the world!

Susie

Comments
4 Responses to “Hosting a Happy Birthday Jesus Party by Susie”
  1. Desiré says:

    Love this! And love how simple you made it and explained it to make it seem do-able (even last minute!) and as a ministry outreach (instead of only inviting friends you know are believers).

  2. Chi Kroeker says:

    What a great blog post! Love the pictures, the kids look so young. Xoxo

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] year I posted about one of our favorite Christmas traditions – Hosting a Happy Birthday Jesus party!  In that post I mentioned this wonderful resource called “What God wants for […]



Leave a Reply

