Redeeming Halloween: The Noble Knight by Susie

Join us during the month of October as we explore some fun ideas and suggestions on how to turn Halloween into a fun time of exploring the truths of God together as a family!

I don’t know about where you live, but here, Halloween is huge. I mean HUGE! People go all out decorating their homes and yards, and every store has a display scary enough to make you jump out of your skin. I find myself quickly veering my little 3 year old away from certain aisles so he doesn’t encounter the skeleton with the blood covered knife stuck in the skull. Even the local grocery store turns into a scary place. So what’s a parent to do? Well, my husband and I have adopted a motto for our parenting :

Insulate not Isolate.

Instinctively, I want to isolate my kids from the evil influences of this world but I choose instead to pour the truths of God into their precious minds and hearts. I will instead help them grow such deep roots in the Word of God,  that as we go out into the world, they are insulated and equipped to make a difference in the Kingdom. While I will continue to avoid the freaky displays and a some yards for a few weeks, I will do what I can to redeem Halloween!

By some miracle, a few years ago, I was organized enough to have picked out our costumes by the end of September. I had been wanting to do some fun at-home devotional lessons with the boys but honestly had been at a loss as to where to start. When I looked at my big boy in his Knight costume chasing after our roaring little guy, all adorable in his Dragon costume, I saw an opportunity to do some character building. The Noble Knight! I knew I was feeling the tap of the Holy Spirit encouraging me to make an intentional effort, and that He, the Great Teacher and Equipper, would give me the ideas and ability. All I had to do was join in the fun with Him. I am so grateful I accepted the invitation. We had so much fun together as a family that we now have an annual tradition of turning our Halloween costumes into a theme for the month and having great Family Fun focussing on the truths found in God’s Word. 

Year One: The Noble Knight!

Knight and Dragon

Let me tell you, the knightly topic gave us so many things to talk about and work with I almost ran out of month! LOL!  Here is a sample of some of the great fun we had.

1) What does a Knight wear? Armor of course! A super fun devotional is to take Ephesians 6:10-18 and put on the costume one armor piece at a time, taking the time to talk about the belt of truth and the breastplate of righteousness and so on. We actually took several nights to do it until he was fully dressed!

Want a fun book to read to help you go through the armor with your little guys? I just discovered this book this morning in our preschool collection at church.  

armor_of_God

2)  Memory verse for the month.  Psalm 28:7 “The Lord is my strength and my Shield. I trust him with all my heart….”

We also cut out a shield shape out of poster board, painted it up super cute and  put our memory verse on it.We hung it up and it served as a great reminder that the Lord is our shield when things got scary – like when that flyer from the costume store with the half decayed zombie on the front slipped out of the newspaper or when the neighbors begin to hang ghosts and goblins up in the trees in their yard! You see, no matter how hard I try, I’ll never be able to isolate them, but I can sure partner with God to insulate them!

3) Characteristics of  a Knight! We talked about makes a knight so worthy of being a knight! A fun thing to do with our older son was to write out the word KNIGHT and think of words that described a knight. Here was our brainstorm :

Kind
Noble
Integrity
Generous
Honest
Takes risks for others

Did I mention we got a LOT of mileage out of this theme?

4)  Family Movie Night – we loved “The Sword in the Stone”

5) Best of all, we pulled out one of our favorite books of all time called  The Squire and the Scroll. Its a wonderful story that explores the topic of purity of heart.  “How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word.”  Psalm 119:9.  

    squire_scroll

Side note: This spring I discovered that a companion book has been published called “Life Lessons from the Squire and the Scroll”. Holy Moly am I excited. This summer my husband and our oldest embarked on some weekly daddy-son adventures that we call “Squire Training.”  CAN. NOT. WAIT. to blog about how that has been going! stay tuned!!!  And don’t despair if you have a girl – The Princess and the Kiss will not disappoint!

{JUST HAVE TO ADD THE AMAZING RESOURCE I DISCOVERED SINCE WRITING THIS POST. } 

CHECK OUT TABLETOPTRUTHS PLACEMATS!!

Stay tuned  for our next Halloween post on how we managed to turn a Skeleton costume into a theme about God’s grace and mercy!

So what do your kids want to be for Halloween?  Let’s brainstorm some ideas for each other!  We’d love to see your comments!  And boy do I need your help. Both boys want to be Bats this year!  Ack!  What on earth will I do with that?  Help me!  

Susie

Comments
9 Responses to “Redeeming Halloween: The Noble Knight by Susie”
  1. Love love love it!!! Hummmm….bats….they can’t see right? Use their ears to see, hang upside down, fly at night/ love the dark….what happens when a bat is exposed to light? I bet it would freek out if a flashlight got to it. So you could do a lessons on: faith (don’t have to see to believe), upside down gospel (how Jesus turned everything upside down from what people knew), and a lesson on how Jesus is the light (exposes sin/ darkness/ etc).

    All right people…we are going to be superheros over here…ideas??? GO!……

  2. you totally rock!! i’m lovin’ the “rescue people in distress”- there are no words for your awesomeness!!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] that used the Halloween costume of choice into a theme for some extra special family fun.   The Noble Knight gave me SO much material to work with.  Click HERE to read all about it.   What on earth was I […]

  2. […] and how I wish I had this when I was doing my theme month on the Noble Knight a couple years […]

  3. […] I felt of being in this world but not of it.  (John 17:15-16)  You can read more about our INSULATE not ISOLATE parenting conviction Here if you interested.  I’m convinced that it was this tension that […]



Leave a Reply

