Alphabet Adventure: X Week

Well, WHAT can you do with X??!!  Very little I realized ;-).  Our X was made out of foam pages cut into strips to make a xylophone.  We have a wooden xylophone and if I would have been really on top of it I would have had them pattern the colors to match the xylophone…but I wasn’t.  🙂  Oh well.  I made a homemade tic tac toe board out of felt X’s & O’s….we must have played at least 50 rounds in three days, it was well-loved by the big kids.  Our original adventure during the summer was to attend an eX-treem sports event at 3 Palms but since we went past the summer the only even I could find started at 9pm, not going to happen for these little guys.  But, I think it would be a super fun X adventure for older kids or for when they have day events (especially the events with the younger age children!). 

We continue to present the gospel to the kids in as many ways as possible in hopes that they will really see their need for Jesus.  It is an interesting place to be in as a parent- I see my children being raised in a Bible teaching home, loving Jesus, and having a beautiful childlike faith, even putting scripture into practice.  And I also see that basic level of  “need” or “desperation” for Christ to remove sin beginning to be cultivated the oldest child.  Yet I know that concept is SO BIG for an almost 6-year-old to grasp since I myself am still learning of my desperate need for Him!!  So, we talk gospel talk a lot around here.  We did a little activity with one of our felt X’s from tic tac toe and talked about how Jesus “X’s” out our sin by His blood.  That’s about as much as this mama could come up with for a faith lesson on X!  Tricky tricky!!

X books for this week: Jessica’s X-Ray by Pat Zonta (includes REAL X-rays!!), Fox in Socks by Dr. Seuss (great for X),  MAX by Bob Graham, The Adventures of Max and Pinky: Best Buds by Maxwell Easton III, The Toolbox Twins by Lola M. Schaefer,  The Inside-Outside Book of Texas by Roxie Munro, L is for Lone Star: A Texas Alphabet by Carol Crane, My “x,y,z” Sound Box by Jane Belk Moncure, Not So Tall for Six by Dianna Hutts Aston.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment