Family Rules by Kell

Frazier Family Rules

One of my cousins reminded me of these today.  We established these family rules about a year  ago (though I wish it would have happened earlier b/c the oldest was def ready for something like this by age 3).  I think it is really helpful for both child and parent to have some guidelines on how to function together as a family unit.  Most families have some form of this and they often consist of things like “share, do your chores, don’t hit/ kick/ bite, ask before raiding the fridge” etc etc.  While these are all things that come out of our mouths all the time, our rules create the opportunity to speak of the root of those issues.  As an adult, I find myself asking why am I doing this, what is the point/ purpose in my actions, who is it that I am serving?  We all need someone to look TO that can get to the root of behavior and transform it, and that person is Jesus.  Our rules are centered around the heart attitude of Christ….most of them are formed from scripture that in some way say “as Jesus did.”  So when the middle takes a toy from the younger I say things like “was that a good choice or a bad choice to take that toy from him?” And, “let’s go back and look at our family rules and talk about what it means to love/ respect/ serve (pick one) one another.”  After we read the rule and the scripture, I say something like “when we choose to serve our brother, we are showing Jesus how much we love him!”  and I ask “what choice will you make next time?” to make sure he gets the point.  And then everyone must take accountability for their actions and say I’m sorry.  We are drilling accountability for actions into these kids as much as possible now in hopes that they will take responsibility for poor choices when they are older.  There are of course times I am screaming from the shower “share with your brother!!! or all of you to your rooms until I am done!!!” I am human, I yell every now and then, what can I say.  😉  Use um’ or make your own as a family & enjoy the gentle reminders throughout the day to obey, haha!!

1. Love One Another.  John 13: 34-35 “A new command I give you: Love one another.  As I have love you, so you must love one another.  By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” -Jesus

2. Respect  Each Other.  Ephesians 5:21 “Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.”

3. Serve One Another.  John 13:15 “I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.” – Jesus

4. Forgive One Another Freely. Colossians 3:13 “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

5. Speak in Kindness and Truth.” Ephesians 4:15 “Speak the truth in love.”

6. DON’T WASTE FUN! (T Bar M had to make the cut since Daniel & I did fall in love there ;-)!)

Comments
3 Responses to “Family Rules by Kell”
  1. Kelly T says:

    I loved these when I first saw them…maybe on FB? I think I too need to compile a list now. It really helps solidify what we try to instill into our little munchkins. It’s amazing when I get out of the loop of posting signs of memory verses, how they are not remembered. Lacy is nearly reading, so she quickly memorizes by sight….the family rules and a POSTER of it, would really impact Lacy. I LOVE what you have picked out for your boys to remember and focus on.

    I have been so busy lately that I have not been able to comment as much as I’d like, but your blog is a real blessing to me. Thanks for your wisdom and encouragement Kellye!!!

  2. Hey Kell! Thanks so much for the note! I am lovin all the pics you are posting of those precious girls! And your other work with other families is SO beautiful! A gal down my street has the most creative photography business, I think you would love her work- http://www.feather-nest.com. Hugs to all!

  3. Kirsten M. says:

    I love your idea of incorporating family rules. I think it’s important to have kids involved as much as possible because they feel valued and loved. I also think it is a great learning experience for them to know what it means to show love and respect each other as family, and how they can show that to others around them. Although I do not have kids now 🙂 I think this might be something I revisit in the future.

Leave a Reply

