Alphabet Adventure: A & B

Excuse my blogging vaca!  Anyone else stoked about the SUMMER???!!!!  I did shed a few tears today as Logan was hugging his precious preschool teachers, we have been SO blessed by them this year.  And to think I have a kindergartener just blows my mind….

In honor of this fabulous last day of school & start to the summer…..Daniel (the hubbs) and I have been planning something super fun for our kids this summer!  Any of you out there wondering what to do with your precious little ones?  Inspired by a darling friend of mine, we are setting out on an “Alphabet Adventure!”  Two letters a week and every letter has most of the following…. field trip, faith lesson, recipe, craft, and other fun family stuff.  There are LOTS of low maintenance things, a few high maintenance things, lots of library trips, and lots and lots of fun planned.  The kids know about the A-Z adventure but everything else will be a surprise.  We told them last night and they are waiting on the edges of their seats to get started!!  I love the brewing excitement, and I will admit, I love having a plan!!  While we have lots of days to enjoy the slow pace of the summer months….the long nights over carefully created meals, the last-minute pool trips and such, I thrive on this kind of stuff!!   I will list out several of the books we are using and share the first two letters.  If there is interest then I will post the week before to share ideas for each weeks letters.  I’m sure MANY of you have fun ideas to add to my growing pile and I would love to hear them!  So….let the Fab Frazier Fun begin!

Resources (Got some??  Share Um’!!):

My ABC Bible Verses: Hiding God’s Word in Little Hearts by Susan Hunt

S is for Shepherd by Tricia Lowenfield

Eating the Alphabet: Fruits & Vegetables from A to Z by Lois Ehlert

Dr. Seuss’s ABC (I can’t not list it!!)

Animalia by Graeme Base

We will go through Hunts book for scripture memory & for the Alphabet themed devo’s but are supplementing with Trujillo’s Faith-Filled Moments (see previous post) as she has some really creative stuff that goes with our adventures & activities.  I also have several differnt sets of alphabet cards, one with those Wikki Stix that I got at Lakeshore Learning yesterday, so cute!

Other A-Z Alphabet Books I have found:  G is for Goat by Patricia Polacco, Alphab’art: Find the letters hidden in the paintings by Anne Guery, M is for Mischief by Linda Ashman, A is for Aardvark by Mark Shulman, The Z was Zapped by Chris Van Allsburg, Pigs for A to Z by Arthur Geisert.

A: Trip to the Aquarium, Art with Apples, Paper Airplane Fun, Apple Pie, and our Faith Lesson is from Faith-Filled Moments, #62 about hiding Gods Word in our hearts and Hunt’s “A” devotion.

Books from Home: Magic Tree House #6: Afternoon on the Amazon by Mary Pope Osborne, Alligator Boy by Cynthia Rylant & Diane Goode and a couple of “search for the letter” books that we will be using throughout the summer: Richard Scarry’s Best Word Book Ever and My First 100 Words Illustrated by Paula Knight.  I don’t have many “A” books, ho humm.

Books topics we will be searching for at the library: Ants, Astronomy, Astronauts, Asia, Africa, that’s all I’ve got so far….

B: Pick Blueberries at Moorehead, Surfside Beach, Blueberry Smoothies, Pigs in a Blanket, Backwards Day (everything is backwards, clothes, dessert first, etc, kids love it), Drawing B things with Blindfolds on, Bubble bath.  Faith Lesson is #45 to go with the Bubble Bath & Hunt’s B devo for another day!

Books from Home: The Ballad of Matthew’s Begats by Andrew Petterson (which will be my next book review!!), The Berenstain Bears, Baby Bounce by Linda Hayward, Dr. Seuss’s Mr. Brown can Moo! Can You?, Buzz Said the Bee by Lewison, Biscuit by Capucilli, Curious George at the Baseball Game, A Visitor for Bear by Bonny Becker, Beans Baker Number Five by Richard Torrey, and The Bible.

And our Library Search will be for: Bears, Bees, Hot Air Balloons, Baseball, Boats, Basketball, etc..

DO YOU THINK I’M A NUTCASE??!!!  It might not ALL get accoplished but we have high hopes & can’t wait to make this summer the adventure that three little boys are hungry for!!  YIPEEEEE!!!

Comments
4 Responses to “Alphabet Adventure: A & B”
  1. Amy says:

    This is such a good way to keep the summer moving! You are thorough! I use this website occasionally for printouts and ideas when I get stuck: http://www.dltk-teach.com/alphabuddies/index.html. Count us in for P is for pedicure day! we took pictures of EVERYTHING, hung up pictures as the summer went on to learn the letters, and then made a scrapbook of the summer. This year, Ben and I made each letter out of something that begins with that letter and cut pictures from magazines to make his own alphabet book.

  2. Thanks for the website A!! We are def doing the book at the end! I have already started an alphabet album on snapfish so I can work on it throughout the summer! My step sister’s oldest did the theme letters and they are all hung in their garage, it is really cute. I called her and got her to tell me what each letter was made out of so I think we will try for that too. My favorite was q-tips for Q, I don’t know why that has stuck in my head for a year but it did!! You guys want to go to the Aquarium with us on Tues or Blueberry Picking early on Thurs?! xo, K

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] If you followed Kellye last summer during her amazing Alphabet Adventure, you will be familiar with these great magnet pages available at http://www.makelearningfun.com  How do […]

  2. […] yourself for what you aren’t doing.   Susie here: I confess, during Kellye’s amazing Alphabet Adventure days, I would get excited to read what awesome things she had done with her boys that week but […]



Leave a Reply

